Hong Kong Harbour with Aching legs

Hong Kong HarbourIMG_0603

Well I was out like a shot this morning, only to realise after a few strides that my legs were not as wiling as yesterday. Oh yes, boy did I over do it. Any ordinary person would get the tram or a bus, not me I’ll walk! So today I’m paying the price. I soldiered on starting at the Nan Lian Garden, described below,

“Cutting through Diamond Hill’s myriad of high-rise apartments is the tranquil Nan Lian Garden, a public park also built in the style of the Tang dynasty. Its scenic garden is meticulously landscaped over an area of 3.5 hectares, in which every hill, rock, body of water, plant and timber structure has been placed according to specific rules and methods. There are permanent exhibitions of Chinese timber architecture, rocks and potted plants, while the hungry might want to try the vegetarian restaurant or teahouse.”

Unfortunately the main building was being renovated, however the Buddhist monastery next door was equally impressive. Bonsai trees like you’ve never seen them, that is huge!.

So I left the tranquility of the Buddhist retreat and headed for the star ferry to take me across the water and explore the harbour. Like most large cities Hong Kong is in a constant state of development,  which of course is good, but it causes so much disruption, so with tired legs i piped into the local shopping mall for some t-shirts.

So whats next? Cambodia tomorrow, I can’t wait, I’m so excited to see this country, not just for Angkor but for all Cambodia has to offer. I’ve decided to head straight to Siem Reap rather than Bangkok, as I’ll be able to visit Bangkok as I come through Thailand. So the flight is booked, it will mean a stop in Ho chi min city, Saigon to the theatre lovers! And Ill be there Wednesday evening. See you there.

6 responses to Hong Kong Harbour with Aching legs

      • Lesley Curtis says:

        it’s mentioned in the description of the Nan Lian Garden. Told you I’d read your posts avidly! Enjoy Cambodia xx

        Like

  1. Viajero says:

    Have a safe flight to Cambodia! Make sure you order lots of tasty Cambodia dishes – you’ll need the energy!

    Like

  2. Devra says:

    Forgot to tell you always wash your teeth with bottled water !! And don’t swallow water in the shower! Lol devs xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

