Hoi An by Bicycle

Okay need to catch up for a few days now. On my third day in Hoi An, I took one of the Home stay’s push bikes and went to explore the surroundings. I spent all day cycling, fortunately it was all pretty flat, with some surprised faces as I tootled through some areas where the tourists don’t normally venture!

The weather once again wasn’t very good, so i wrapped up and got on with it. As I set off I turned off the main road to take a pic of one of the rice fields, where I was called over by a farmer working in the field. I think he was looking for some amusement and suggested I had my picture taken with one of his Buffalos. He was a funny guy so I obliged in the pouring rain. he then suggested I sat on the Buffalo! I obliged…..we swopped hats and just laughed at each other. Nothing comes for free in Vietnam, he then wanted some money for a new hat!

IMG_5018 - Version 2 IMG_5021

Crazy guy

IMG_5019 - Version 2IMG_5025

No Buffalo were hurt in the making of this photo.

IMG_5028 IMG_5034

I then headed to the beach, pretty much deserted apart from the fisher men. One guy was very interesting to watch. He would prepare his nets, to catch fish, put on his life jacket and swim out into the sea to distribute the nets. Then he would swim back in shore to secure the end of the nets., he seemed to have pretty big catch.

IMG_5040 IMG_5041IMG_5045 IMG_5054 IMG_5058 IMG_5061IMG_5062 IMG_5063 IMG_5073

cattle are just everywhere roaming around.

IMG_5075 IMG_5080 IMG_5083 IMG_5087 IMG_5089IMG_5096 IMG_5098 IMG_5101 - Version 3

This lady was leaving her house as I cycled by, she entertained me for a picture. I believe the black teeth are from eating and chewing Betel nut.It is a mild stimulant that comes in the form of a tiny parcel made up of betel nut, the fruit of an Areca tree and lime paste wrapped in a leaf of the betel pepper vine. It is chewed in a similar way to tobacco and this stains the teeth. There are also some traditions to stain their teeth black by actually applying a black lacquer, but this looks quite different to what we see here.

IMG_5105IMG_5108 IMG_5110 IMG_5112 IMG_5115 IMG_5119

Some of the french colonial influence.

Finally some pics that evening, Hoi An at night is very colourful.

IMG_5125 IMG_5126 IMG_5132 IMG_5133

3 responses to Hoi An by Bicycle

  1. Victor Bravo says:

    Im very jealous!!! Hope you are enjoying a lot,
    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!!!

    Like

    • stunet2012 says:

      Nice to hear from you Vicky! Send me a nessage on facebook and give me an update on you, work, Maria!
      Happy New year!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

