Highlights of SE Asia

Well I’m just about there with editing my travel photos, and boy did it take some time. It has, however, been worth it as you start to see many photos that with some tweaking, really stand out.

So as you now see I’ve altered my blog to part blog, part portfolio. So the highlights will be kept here. The rest, and there are many more, I will keep on my Flickr page, take a look, http://www.flickr.com/stuartknowles

I will continue to use my blog here, for all my photography, and hopefully in the not too distant future, some more travelling.

Well this is how the final route looked, I didn’t manage as much time at the bottom of SE Asia, around Malaysia and Indonesia, but I’m pleased I spent the time where I did. A total of five months, visiting some truly amazing countries and their people.

IMG_0086

And what were the highlights? Anything I would do differently? Anywhere I wouldn’t go?

Well I enjoyed everywhere I went,and I would recommend a visit to all, Cambodia, Vietnam, Laos, Thailand, Myanmar and Indonesia. Two countries that stood out for me were Myanmar and Cambodia. Why?. Well because they were poor countries, but they were extremely welcoming, kind and friendly with such amazing people. Through out my trip I was touched by the children I met, their naive love of life is a good reminder that we should be grateful for what we have. The same can be said for the lives of these people, materialistically they may have very little, but they have such rich lives with what they do have, friends, family, a roof over their heads, of course their lives could and should improve. We should remember it’s not necessarily the new 60 inch flat screen television that’s making us happy but the person or people sitting next to us watching it.

I’m so pleased I managed to see some of the sights before the trip that I had only dreamt of. Two stand out for me, Bagan, and its temples, and Angkor, also for its temples, they were as truly magnificent as the pictures. Here is a short list of some of my recommendations .

  • Angkor temples  Cambodia
  • Hoi An  Vietnam
  • Ha Long bay and Sa pa  Vietnam
  • Luang Prabang  Laos
  • White palace and Black house, Chiang Rai, Thailand
  • Sukhothai ancient city  Thailand
  • Bagan temples  Myanmar
  • Inle lake  Myanmar
  • Yogyakarta Indonesia

And visiting these places allowed me to do may things I’ve not done before, everything from Ballooning, to riding a scooter, Zip Lining to washing and swimming with elephants, learning different cultures, experiencing different foods. Many great memories. Enjoy the pictures, any thoughts, opinions about the work or if the web site can be better, let me know!

Stuart.

Leave a Reply

